Nerdophiles

The third trailer for Maleficent came out today, oh boy. You can watch it below:

Well, it certainly looks cool and…

You know what, I can’t do this. Is anyone else skeptical as hell about this movie?

I mean, don’t get me wrong, it certainly looks cool and will probably end up doing Snow White and the Huntsman better than Snow White and the Huntsman did.* And yay female lead movies from a major studio that will likely feature some sort of character development for one or more leads!

But it’s the angle the film is going for is what bothers me. “Disney-fying” is the wrong word for it. That’s more of what you’d use to describe what Saving Mr. Banks did to P.L. Travers.** No, it’s Wicked-fying Maleficent.

I'm not just saying that because of the green skin. [herocomplex.latimes.com] I’m not just saying that because of the green skin. [herocomplex.latimes.com] If you’re not familiar, Wicked: The Life and Times…

View original post 645 more words

